Etias: discover the new authorization that will be required for travel to Europe | Tourism and travel

Anyone planning to visit Europe next year will need to familiarize themselves with the new European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which evaluate the profiles of each tourist, and only then allow them to enter the countries of the Schengen Area (covering 26 countries).

System subscription must become mandatory in mid-2023. The system has been under discussion since 2016 and will go into effect in 2021, but has been postponed.

Before the measure, some nationalities, such as Brazil, could enter the area for tourism without any type of visa or travel authorization. THE Etias is not a visabut a sort of online authorization, which is requested once every three years (see more below).

The idea of ​​the European Commission is to improve the security of the Schengen Area. During the process, there will be an application screening a ensure that no one poses a threat to the security of the region.

  • Global entry: how to apply for the program that makes entry to the United States faster

Ask your questions about the system below, based on the European Commission’s information on etia:

  • What is Ethias?
  • What is the Schengen area?
  • Does Etias replace the visa?
  • In which countries can I travel with Etias?
  • How long can you stay in Europe?
  • When does it start to take effect?
  • Which countries benefit from it?
  • How long will the authorization be valid?
  • What do I need to get Etias?
  • Can I have Etias denied?
  • How long will it take to get the answer?
  • Do i have to pay commissions?
  • Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?
  • Who is part of the Schengen Area?
  • Discover the 60 countries that can use Etias

The European Travel Information and Authorization System is a digital platform that will determine whether or not a person can enter the Schengen Areaby analyzing personal information filled in an online form, such as date of birth, criminal record and travel information.

By verifying the data provided in various databases, Etias will be able to detect if the person poses a threat to any of the countries in the region.

What is the Schengen area?

THE The Schengen area is the crossroads of 26 European countries that have signed an agreement on the policy of free movement between people in the signatory countries.

Not all countries that are part of the European Union have signed the agreement, as in the case of Ireland. In the same way, non-EU states, such as Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican, can also join the Schengen Area (see all member countries at the end of the report).

The word Schengen is a tribute to the city of Schengen in Luxembourg, where the original agreement was signed in June 1985.

Etias is not a visa, but a authorization for those traveling for tourism or business. he is aimed specifically at countries that do not require a visa to enter the Schengen area.

Countries for which an entry visa is required will not have access to Etias. In the case of Brazil, only those who intend to travel for work or study must apply for a specific visa for these situations.

  • VIDEO: how to get a passport
  • PET: see what precautions to take on the plane

In which countries can I travel with Etias?

After entering this area, tourists can move freely between the 26 countries of the agreement as there are no rigid internal borders.

How long does it allow you to stay in Europe?

Etias allows short stays for a maximum of 90 days, within periods of 180 daysthat is, after returning to the country of origin, it would take an interval of at least 90 days to return to Europe.

There is no scheduled date at the moment. But The idea is that the system will be operational in May 2023.

Which countries should use Etias?

At the moment, 60 countries are coveredincluding Brazil, the measure applies to all those who were already visa-free for European destinations. Check the list at the end of the report.

Other nationalities will continue to need a Schengen visa and will not become eligible for Etias.

How long will the authorization be valid?

After the issuance of the Etias, the approval will be valid for three yearsunless the passport expires sooner.

What does it take to get Etias?

It will be necessary fill in the online application form with basic personal information, such as name, address, date of birth and passport details. The website address has not yet been released.

They will also be asked for answers on criminal records, travel to conflict zones and some security issues..

It is also important to have an email address to receive the Etias, as well as a passport valid for at least three months from the date of application and a debit or credit card to pay the fee.

How long will it take to get the answer?

Etias processing promises to be fast – most travelers must receive the authorization in about 15 days. In some exceptional cases, the deadline can be extended to 30 or 60 days.

Can I have Etias denied?

Yes, it is possible, but 95% of applications must be approvedstresses the European Commission.

Read also – Air miles:

  • What they are and how to get started
  • Find out if it’s still worth hoarding

Do i have to pay commissions?

Yup, travelers will have to pay a fee to travel to Europe with Etias. The cost should be 7 euros (about R $ 37 in the price of last Wednesday 18). Children under 18 and over 70 do not pay.

This fee is used to cover processing costs, says the European Commission.

It’s over there? must be paid online by debit or credit card.

Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?

The visa waiver approved in Etias will be linked to the passport used in the application and will be checked when the person crosses an external Schengen border.

How to get a US tourist visa

Who is part of the Schengen Area?

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Holland
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • li Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Swiss
  • monk
  • San Marino
  • Vatican

Discover the 60 countries that can use Etias

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Sunday
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenade
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • North Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius Islands
  • Mexico
  • micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zeland
  • Nicaragua
  • palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • San Vincenzo
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • East Timor
  • tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • WE
  • Uruguay
  • vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Leave a Comment